



Ewine van Dishoeck

Ewine van Dishoeck is professor of molecular astrophysics at Leiden University, the Netherlands, and external scientific member of the Max Planck Institute for Extraterrestrial Physics in Garching. Germany. Graduated from Leiden in 1984, she held positions at Harvard, Princeton and Caltech before returning to Leiden in 1990. The work of her group innovatively combines the world of chemistry with that of physics and astronomy to study the molecular trail from star-forming clouds to planet-forming disks. She has mentored several dozens of students and postdocs and has been heavily involved in planning of new observational facilities such as the Atacama Large Millimeter Array and the James Webb Space Telescope. Her awards include the 2000 Dutch Spinoza Prize, the 2018 James Craig

Watson Medal of the US National Academy of Sciences, the 2018 Kavli Prize for Astrophysics, the Karl Schwarzschild medal (2019), Prix Jules Janssen (2020), and the Niels Bohr Gold Medal (2022). She is a Member or Foreign Associate of several academies, including that of the Netherlands, USA, Germany and Norway. From 2007-2021, she was the scientific director of the Netherlands Research School for Astronomy (NOVA). From 2018-2021, van Dishoeck served as the president of the International Astronomical Union (IAU), the worldwide organization of professional astronomers. Ewine van Dishoeck has a passion for outreach to the general public and a special interest in art and astronomy. In 2019, she co-curated an exhibition on Cosmos: Art & Knowledge in the Boerhaave Museum in Leiden.

##