Third countries associated to the Programme <sup>28</sup>		
North Macedonia	Iceland	Norway
Serbia	Liechtenstein	Türkiye

## THIRD COUNTRIES NOT ASSOCIATED TO THE PROGRAMME

The following countries can take part in certain Actions of the Programme, subject to specific criteria or conditions. Some of these countries are recipients of official development assistance<sup>29</sup>. Please consult Part B of this Guide for eligible countries for each specific action.

Western Balkans (Region 1)	Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Kosovo <sup>30</sup> , Montenegro	
Neighbourhood East (Region 2)	Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus <sup>31</sup> , Georgia, Moldova, territory of Ukraine as recognised by international law	
South-Mediterranean countries (Region 3)	Algeria, Egypt, Israel <sup>32</sup> , Jordan, Lebanon, Libya, Morocco, Palestine <sup>33</sup> , Syria <sup>34</sup> , Tunisia	
Russian Federation (Region 4)	territory of Russia as recognised by international law	
Region 5 Asia	a) Bangladesh, Bhutan, Cambodia, China, DPR Korea, India, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Maldives, Mongolia, Myanmar, Nepal, Pakistan, Philippines, Sri Lanka, Thailand, Vietnam	

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>28</sup> Subject to the signature of the Association Agreements between the European Union and those countries.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>29</sup> The list of least developed countries can be found at <a href="https://www.oecd.org/content/dam/oecd/en/topics/policy-sub-issues/oda-eligibility-and-conditions/DAC-List-of-ODA-Recipients-for-reporting-2024-25-flows.pdf">https://www.oecd.org/content/dam/oecd/en/topics/policy-sub-issues/oda-eligibility-and-conditions/DAC-List-of-ODA-Recipients-for-reporting-2024-25-flows.pdf</a>

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>30</sup> This designation is without prejudice to positions on status and is in line with UNSCR 1244 and the ICJ Opinion on the Kosovo declaration of independence.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>31</sup> In line with the Council Conclusions of 12 October 2020 and in light of Belarus's involvement in the Russian military aggression against Ukraine, recognised in the European Council Conclusions of February 2022, the EU has stopped engaging with representatives of Belarus public bodies and state-owned enterprises. Should there be a change of the context this may be reconsidered. In the meantime, the EU continues to engage with and, where possible, has stepped up support to non-state, local and regional actors, including within the framework of this programme as appropriate.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>32</sup> The eligibility criteria formulated in Commission notice Nr.2013/C-205/05 (OJEU C-205 of 19/07/2013, pp. 9-11) shall apply for all actions implemented through this Programme Guide, including with respect to third parties receiving financial support in the cases where the respective action involves financial support to third parties by grant beneficiaries in accordance with article 204 of the EU's Financial Regulation.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>33</sup> This designation shall not be construed as recognition of a State of Palestine and is without prejudice to the individual positions of the Member States on this issue.

<sup>34</sup> In line with the April 2018 Council Conclusions on Syria, Syrian public establishments are not eligible for funding under Erasmus+.

	b) High income countries and territories <sup>35</sup> : Brunei, Hong Kong, Japan, Republic of Korea, Macao, Singapore, Taiwan	
Region 6 Central Asia	Afghanistan, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, Uzbekistan	
Region 7 Middle East	<ul><li>a) Iran, Iraq, Yemen</li><li>b) High income countries: Bahrain, Kuwait, Oman, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, United Arab Emirates</li></ul>	
Region 8 Pacific	<ul> <li>a) Cook Islands, Fiji, Kiribati, Marshall Islands, Micronesia, Nauru, Niue, Palau, Papua New Guinea, Samoa, Solomon Islands, Timor-Leste, Tonga, Tuvalu, Vanuatu</li> <li>b) High income countries: Australia, New Zealand</li> </ul>	
Region 9 Sub-Saharan Africa <sup>36</sup>	Angola, Benin, Botswana, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cameroon, Cabo Verde, Central African Republic, Chad, Comoros, Congo, Congo - Democratic Republic of the, Côte d'Ivoire, Djibouti, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Eswatini, Ethiopia, Gabon, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Madagascar, Malawi, Mali, Mauritania, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, Niger, Nigeria, Rwanda, Sao Tome and Principe, Senegal, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Somalia, South Africa, South Sudan, Sudan, Tanzania, Togo, Uganda, Zambia, Zimbabwe	
Region 10 Latin America	Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Ecuador, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, Mexico, Nicaragua, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Uruguay, Venezuela	
Region 11 Caribbean	Antigua & Barbuda, Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Cuba, Dominica, Dominican Republic, Grenada, Guyana, Haiti, Jamaica, St Kitts and Nevis, St Lucia, St Vincent & Grenadines, Suriname, Trinidad & Tobago	
Region 12 US and Canada	United States of America, Canada	
Region 13	Andorra, Monaco, San Marino, Vatican City State	
Region 14	Faroe Islands, Switzerland, United Kingdom	

Funding will be allocated to organisations in the countries within their territories as recognised by international law. Funding must respect any restrictions placed on EU external assistance imposed by the European Council. Applications have to be in line with the overall EU values of respect for human dignity, freedom, democracy, equality, the rule of law and respect for human rights, including the rights of persons belonging to minorities as foreseen in Article 2 of the Treaty of the European Union.

For more information, please consult the detailed description of the Actions of the Programme in the Part B of this Guide.

## REQUIREMENTS REGARDING VISA AND RESIDENCE PERMITS

Participants in Erasmus+ projects may need to obtain a visa for staying abroad in the EU Member States and third countries associated to the Programme or third countries not associated to the Programme hosting the activity. It is a responsibility of

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>35</sup> This includes countries and territories according to OECD's High Income country list and is without prejudice to the status of or sovereignty over any territory, to the delimitation of international frontiers and boundaries and to the name of any territory, city, or area. <sup>36</sup> The following are migration priority third countries not associated to the Programme: Burkina Faso, Cameroon, Chad, Côte d'Ivoire, Djibouti, Eritrea, Ethiopia, The Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Mali, Mauritania, Niger, Nigeria, Senegal, Somalia, South Sudan and Sudan.